Errors identified in RCSLT 1995 History and their corrections

Page no	Error	Correction	Source for correction
8	First CST conference 1946	1945	Editorial and conference summary <i>Bulletin</i> No. 2 (June 1945) pp. 1-2
8	BJDC replaced British Journal of Speech Therapy 1965	BJDC replaced Speech Pathology and Therapy 1966	Journal collection – <i>Speech Pathology and Therapy</i> was the name of the College's journal in 1965. <i>BJDC</i> was the new title in 1966 (vol. 1, No. 1 - April 1966).
8	Union of Speech Therapists (UST) replaced the Association of Speech Therapists	UST replaced the Speech Therapists' Professional Association (STPA)	The Association of Speech Therapists (AST) ceased to exist on 6 January 1945 when the College of Speech Therapists was inaugurated (AST minutes). The Speech Therapists' Professional Association was formed in the 1950s to negotiate salaries, which College was not allowed to do. It was replaced by the Union of Speech Therapists. The separation of CST and STPA was discussed in <i>Bulletin</i> No. 60 by Joan Pollitt (Whitley representative) and agreed at the 1956 AGM (No. 64). A summary of the need to form the association is given in No. 68. By No. 69 the STPA had 'been born (though it is still a very small helpless infant)'. Council formally handed over its responsibilities for salaries and conditions on 11 May 1957 (No. 75). By implication it changed name to the Union of Speech Therapists in 1967 (No. 190, p. 3). The Association of Scientific, Technical and Managerial Staffs (ASTMS) became the official negotiating body for the speech therapy profession in 1975 (No. 279).
9	Association of Speech Therapists 1935	Established 1943, renamed from Association of Teachers of Speech and Drama (Remedial Section)	Association of Speech Therapists was one of the College's precursor organisations (minutes 1943).
10	British Society of Speech Therapists (BSST) established 1934	1935	It 'was founded in the beginning of the year' (Announcements Speech (1935), 1/1, p. 6).

Page	Error	Correction	Source for correction
10	Provisional Council had 18 members	Minutes suggest it had three members from each precursor organisation and the two secretaries	Provisional Council minutes 1943-44
10	First AGM planned for October 1944	16 September 1944	Date provisionally suggested at Provisional Council 11 May 1944 (minute 3.)
11	Founder Fellows list	Not Miss Furnall-Thurston. Miss Mary Dolman was. Mrs A Dance. No contemporary written evidence found yet to support a distinction between Founder Fellows and Fellows enrolled on foundation.	Miss F-T - made FCST in 1959 (see Council Minutes 18 July 1959). Miss Dolman - FCST in 1944 Medical Auxiliaries register. Aileen Dance (1944 Medical Auxiliaries register).
14	Winifred Kingdon Ward wrote <i>Stammering</i> in 1977	Published in 1941	Reviewed in <i>Speech</i> (1942), 6/1, p. 15
21	Until 1936 could get Associateship without written examination	BSST – continued until 1939	Announcement in <i>Speech</i> (1939) 4/1, p. 5. Full examination (written and oral) required after 1 August 1939.
25	Manchester Metropolitan Course started 1965	1961	Students from the School of Speech Therapy, Elizabeth Gaskell College, Manchester are listed among those successful in the College of Speech Therapists' qualifying examination in 1964 (Speech Pathology and Therapy 7/2, pp. 118-120).
26	Silvia Pick became Principal of one of NHCSS precursors in 1973 (cf p. 14 1935)	1937?	Pick's 1936 paper in <i>Speech</i> 1/4, pp. 37-39 suggests she was still working clinically then (hospital and council) (although the time delay between submission and publication is unknown) and says that she started speech therapy training in January 1932. In the BSST's 1st AGM report (1937) in <i>Speech</i> 3/1, she is in charge of KW's school. In KW's short bio in Sanson (1947), which presumably she provided, she includes the dates 1933-36 as a lecturer to medics. So, safe to say H-S took over as Principal for sure by 1937 (so the error in the History might be a number transposition, 1973 for 1937?).

Page no	Error	Correction	Source for correction
62	Bulletin started as a monthly magazine	Started in 1945. Not monthly until 1970.	From <i>Bulletin</i> content analyses: Initial terms of reference were agreed at CST Council meeting of 2 December 1944 – see minute 7(b) 1945-50: the number of issues varied from four in 1945 and 1946 to three in 1947 and 1948 (the reduction was due to financial and paper restrictions) to five in 1949 and again in 1950 (not the targeted six for the latter). The first issue was limited to two sheets of paper (foolscap size), although this allowance had risen to eight sides by the second issue. 1951-55: there were 6 issues in 1951-1954, then 10 in 1955. In April 1954 it was announced that 'for a trial period at least, the Bulletin will be published every month' (<i>Bulletin</i> No. 44). This could not be sustained because of 'shortage of staff' (No. 46). 1956-60: Bulletin was now produced monthly except in the summer holiday period (which resulted in a combined July/August issue) 'by precedent' (No. 65). 1961-65: the pattern of 11 issues per annum continued (combined July/August issue 1956-59, no August issue 1960) 1966-70: Eleven issues continued per annum (none in September) until 1970 when there was a monthly issue, designed to help advertisers (No. 220).
70	Past Chairs list	Early sequence incorrect	See list in the table below, information from RCSLT document 'Council and Committees 1944-57' (The list for later years has not been checked.)
72- 73	Fellows, Honorary Fellows and Honours	See roll call on RCSLT website	https://www.rcslt.org/about-us#section-9 (accessed 20 January 2021) Scroll down and click on RCSLT Honours Roll Call 1945 to 2019
74	Dominic Wiseman	Or Dominick - see <i>Bulletin</i> Nos 410, 429	Both spellings used. More likely Dominic: https://www.legacy.com/obituaries/name/dominic-wiseman-obituary?pid=191196347 (accessed 20 January 2021)

Early College Chairmen

Year	Name
1944-45	Eileen MacLeod
1945-46	Ditto
1946-47	Ditto
1947-48	Ditto
1948-49	Ditto
1949-50	Joan van Thal
1950-51	Ditto
1951-52	Ditto
1952-53	Amy Swallow
1953-54	Ditto
1954-55	Joan van Thal
1955-56	Marion Fleming
1956-57	Ditto
1957-58	Joyce Wilkins

Linda Armstrong and Jois Stansfield, January 2021